Lilongwe District is the largest district in the Central Region of Malawi. The district is bordered by Dedza District to the East, Salima to the North East. Mchinji District marks the western border. Dowa District lies to the north of Lilongwe with Kasungu to its North-western tip and the Republic of Mozambique to the South West (See Figure 1). The total land area is 6,159 square kilometers, representing 6.5 % of Malawi’s total land area. Lilongwe District hosts the capital city of Malawi, which owes its name to the river that flows across the centre of the district. According to NSO the projected population for Lilongwe District for 2016 was 1,490,641. The District Council has 34 wards, each represented by a Councillor and 20 Area Development Committees represented by an elected chairperson